facebook twitter linkedin youtube

Free Consultation 847-662-3303

Global English
Spanish Español
Polish Polski
French Français
Italian Italiano
Korean 한국어

Aggravated DUI Convictions Carry Heavy Sentences

 Posted on December 00, 0000 in Drunk Driving Accidents

Aggravated DUI convictions, car accidents, Class 4 felony, drunk driving accidents, Waukegan car accident attorney, Aggravated DUIAccording to the Illinois State Police Department, an Aggravated DUI is a Class 4 felony in the state of Illinois and is defined by any crash that results in great bodily harm or permanent disfigurement. When an Aggravated DUI is committed, a hefty fine or sentencing may result and an offender may be convicted with a Felony (Aggravated) DUI if any of the following offenses are committed:

  • DUI without a permit or valid driver’s license;

  • DUI without vehicle liability insurance;

  • DUI after being previously convicted of a reckless homicide “while DUI or Aggravated DUI involving a death”; and

  • DUI in a school zone “while the restricted speed limit is in effect and involved a crash that resulted in bodily harm.”

An aggravated DUI carries a minimum of one-year loss of driving privileges, in addition to a potential 12-year imprisonment. There can also be a maximum fine associated with the charge of up to $25,000.

The "2014 Illinois DUI Fact Book," a publication of the state’s Attorney General’s office, reports that an aggravated DUI charge can also accompany a second DUI conviction if there was a child under the age of 16 in the car at the time of offense. A person may also face an aggravated DUI if it was a first DUI conviction that resulted in any injury to a child under the age of 16. A third or fourth DUI conviction automatically results in an Aggravated DUI charge. Nearly 2,800 driver’s license revocations in 2012 were for second offense, notes the "2014 Illinois DUI Fact Book."

Other ramifications for DUI include:

  • Loss of work;

  • Completing an evaluation for alcohol or drugs as well as an education course or treatment program;

  • Installation of a BAIID in the offender’s vehicle;

  • Suspended vehicle registration.

If you or someone you know has been charged with an Aggravated DUI, the most important step is to seek the counsel of a lawyer. Contact an aggressive Waukegan car accident attorney today.
Share this post:

Contact a Lake County Vehicle Accident Attorney Who is Ready to Help You

If you or a member of your family has been injured in a motor vehicle accident, contact our office. Call 847-662-3303 to set up a free initial consultation at one of our four convenient locations. There is no risk because we only collect fees if you collect compensation. With offices in Libertyville, Waukegan, Richmond, and Chicago, we represent clients in Lake County, Cook County, DuPage County, and McHenry County.

Back to Top