facebook twitter linkedin youtube

Free Consultation 847-662-3303

Global English
Spanish Español
Polish Polski
French Français
Italian Italiano
Korean 한국어

How Long You Have To Report An Illinois Car Accident

 Posted on February 19, 2024 in Car Accidents

Blog ImageGetting into a car accident can be a very jolting experience both literally and figuratively. The accident can leave you confused and unsure of what you should do in the aftermath. One of the most important things you should do is to report it to the appropriate authorities as soon as you are able. In most situations, reporting a vehicle accident is a requirement and you only have 10 days to report it to the Illinois Department of Transportation (DOT). If you have failed to file a report within the time limit or have and are seeking compensation for injuries sustained during the accident, then hiring a personal injury attorney is the next step.

Situations Where Reporting An Accident is Required By Law

Though you are not required to report all vehicle accidents in which you were involved, it is still a good rule of thumb to do so. This is to document the incident’s occurrence in case you have suffered injuries and you need evidence to file a claim at a later date. However, filing a vehicle accident report to the DOT is mandatory in the following circumstances:

  • There was great bodily harm or death involved in the accident

  • Property damage in the accident exceeds $1,500

In these situations, you must stop and wait for law enforcement to arrive on the scene. Failing to do so could have you facing prosecution. If you were the one to sustain injuries and were hospitalized because of it, then you will have up to one-half hour after being medically discharged to report the incident to your local police station or sheriff’s office.

What You Must Do To Report The Car Accident To Illinois DOT

You have 10 days to report the accident to Illinois DOT and it can be done online. If you would prefer to allow your legal representative to file it on your behalf, then that is a valid option. Failing to file an accident report could see your driver’s license suspended. Providing false information in your report can have you facing a Class C misdemeanor offense, which carries jail time as well as a fine.

The form requires the following information:

  • When and where the accident took place

  • Personal information of all motorists involved in the accident (full name, address, date of birth)

  • Personal information of all parties involved in the accident (pedestrians, passengers)

  • Both motorist’s driver’s license information

  • The plate numbers and states of all vehicles involved in the accident

  • A recounting of the accident

Contact a Lake County, IL Personal Injury Attorney

Both a police report and a DOT report must be filed in the state of Illinois. Regardless of how bad the vehicle crash was, it is important to gather enough evidence to be used in a personal injury claims case to help you prove negligence. The police report and DOT report can both be used in this regard. It is also smart to have a Waukegan, IL car accident lawyer file all documentation for you to ensure it is completed and submitted correctly. Salvi & Maher, LLP can help with this and much more regarding your accident claim. Contact our office for a free consultation right away at 847-662-3303.

Share this post:

Contact a Lake County Vehicle Accident Attorney Who is Ready to Help You

If you or a member of your family has been injured in a motor vehicle accident, contact our office. Call 847-662-3303 to set up a free initial consultation at one of our four convenient locations. There is no risk because we only collect fees if you collect compensation. With offices in Libertyville, Waukegan, Richmond, and Chicago, we represent clients in Lake County, Cook County, DuPage County, and McHenry County.

Back to Top