facebook twitter linkedin youtube

Free Consultation 847-662-3303

Global English
Spanish Español
Polish Polski
French Français
Italian Italiano
Korean 한국어

How to Teach Your Teen Driving Safety

 Posted on December 00, 0000 in Car Accidents

Lake County auto accident attorneys, teen driving safety, car accidents, fatal crashes, safe driving tipsAbout 7 percent of all drivers are teens, according to the American Automobile Association (AAA). However, teens are involved in approximately 14 percent of all fatal crashes. In fact, car accidents are the number one cause of injury and death for people between the age of 15 to 19.

Teens have a propensity to make poor judgements while driving, to speed, and to drive while intoxicated. Younger drivers also have less experience in driving which increases the likelihood of them being involved in a vehicle crash.

Tips to Help Your Teen Learn How to Drive Safely

  1. Make sure your teen is ready. If you feel your teen is not prepared to get his or her driver’s license, do not succumb to his or her pressure. Accidents can be caused by a lack of driving experience and poor driving skills. Therefore, it is important to practice driving with your teen until you believe he or she is ready to take the driver’s license test.

  1. Be a role model. Practice safe driving habits in front of your teen, and your child will follow suit. Even if you believe a quick glance at your phone or at the car radio are insignificant, your teen will mirror these actions that could cause him or her to get into an accident.

  1. Set limits. Teens are often excited about obtaining their driver’s license; however, you should not give in to their demands to have more driving privileges and freedoms if you believe they are not yet prepared for them. Based on how prepared they are, restrict when and where they can drive, and whether they can drive with passengers in their car. As your teen gains more experience and practices safe driving habits, award him or her new driving privileges.

  1. Limit the number of passengers. Teens are often distracted by their peers while driving. Even before your teen begins driving, set certain rules to help him or her make safe driving a habit. In Illinois, during the first 12 months of licensing or until the teen turns 18, the driver is only allowed to have one passenger under the age of 20 in the driver’s vehicle (unless the passenger(s) is a child, stepchild, sibling, or step-sibling of the driver). If you believe this law does not do enough to ensure safety, you can prohibit your child from having a certain number of passengers in the car while he or she is driving.

  1. Keep the lines of communication open. Before your teen embarks on the road, ask your child where he or she is going and when to expect him or her back home. In Illinois, there are certain times 16 and 17-year-old drivers are not permitted to drive. Make sure your teen is back home before the curfew sets in. In addition, you should thoroughly explain to your teen the consequences that reckless and distracted driving can have.

Being involved, setting expectations, and consistently practicing driving with your teen can help your teen learn safe driving habits. When your teen learns and adheres to good driving habits, his or her risk of being involved in a car crash is reduced. Sometimes, however, no amount of safe driving tips or practicing can prevent a vehicle accident from occurring. If your teen was involved in a car accident, it can be a frightening experience. Contact the Lake County auto accident attorneys at Salvi & Maher, LLP to see if you or your teen would qualify for compensation for injuries or car damage from the accident.






Share this post:

Contact a Lake County Vehicle Accident Attorney Who is Ready to Help You

If you or a member of your family has been injured in a motor vehicle accident, contact our office. Call 847-662-3303 to set up a free initial consultation at one of our four convenient locations. There is no risk because we only collect fees if you collect compensation. With offices in Libertyville, Waukegan, Richmond, and Chicago, we represent clients in Lake County, Cook County, DuPage County, and McHenry County.

Back to Top