facebook twitter linkedin youtube

Free Consultation 847-662-3303

Global English
Spanish Español
Polish Polski
French Français
Italian Italiano
Korean 한국어

Understanding Illinois Car Accident Laws - What You Need to Know

 Posted on May 04, 2023 in Car Accidents

Untitled---2023-11-16T101218.472.jpgAccording to Illinois law, car accident victims have the right to hold negligible drivers accountable for their losses, including lost wages, medical expenses, property damage, and suffering and pain. If you or a loved one were hurt in a crash, you may be entitled to financial compensation for these losses. 

How Does Fault Affect a Car Accident Case in Illinois?

Illinois is a "fault-based" state, meaning that the individual at fault for the crash is also responsible for the resulting vehicle damage, injuries, and other losses. The at-fault party is usually another driver. However, businesses, trucking companies, vehicle manufacturers, and several other parties may also be at-fault for a car accident. 

Requirements for Car Insurance Illinois 

A key question that needs to be answered after a car accident is whether the drivers involved in the crash have the proper auto insurance. Illinois drivers must have a minimum of $25,000/$50,000 bodily injury coverage and $20,000 property. 

If an at-fault driver is uninsured in violation of Illinois law, you may be able to file a claim with your own insurance policy.  

In some cases, it may be necessary to file a personal injury lawsuit to recover the full compensation you need. 

What Car Accident Losses Are Compensated In Illinois?

If you have decided to file a car accident lawsuit following a collision in Illinois, you have the right to seek compensation for the complete range of your losses, also known as "damages" in legal terms. These damages include:

  • The cost of reasonable medical care necessary for the treatment of your car accident injuries

  • The physical and emotional distress you went through after the accident, particularly regarding how your injuries have affected your life

  • Financial losses, such as lost wages, which can be attributed to the accident's effects

Statute of Limitations 

The statute of limitations refers to a state law that sets a time limit on your right to file a lawsuit. Illinois law allows you to file a lawsuit if you have suffered from personal injury up to two years from the accident date. 

If you do not file your lawsuit before the statute of limitations is over, the court will dismiss your claim, except in extremely rare scenarios. 

Contact a Professional Car Accident Lawyer in Lake County

It's crucial to contact car accident attorneys after being involved in an accident because they can provide you with essential legal guidance and support. At Salvi & Maher, LLC, our professional Waukegan personal injury attorneys can help you understand your legal rights and options, navigate the insurance claims process, and negotiate with insurance companies on your behalf.

Call 847-662-3303 for a free consultation. 

Share this post:

Contact a Lake County Vehicle Accident Attorney Who is Ready to Help You

If you or a member of your family has been injured in a motor vehicle accident, contact our office. Call 847-662-3303 to set up a free initial consultation at one of our four convenient locations. There is no risk because we only collect fees if you collect compensation. With offices in Libertyville, Waukegan, Richmond, and Chicago, we represent clients in Lake County, Cook County, DuPage County, and McHenry County.

Back to Top